About Gold Wake Press

publishing only the exceptional since 2008

Gold Wake Press is an independent literary house founded in the suburbs of Boston, Massachusetts in 2008 by Jared Michael Wahlgren, who ran the press until 2014, when two of the authors he’d published, Nick Courtright and Kyle McCord, took the helm. The press seeks to bring voices to the spotlight who combine daring content with meticulous attention to form. Gold Wake Press publishes roughly 4-6 titles per year which are for sale at online vendors & in bookstores.

In 2017 they founded Gold Wake Live, an online extension and journal platform for the press. Gold Wake Live seeks to discover new voices and promote the work of its authors. Helping them with this endeavor, and with the press in general, are Matt Margo, Dan McIlhon, Alex Kale, and Kyle Flak.

Gold Wake Press authors have been featured at the Best American Poetry blog, Poetry Daily, Verse Daily, Harriet: the blog of the Poetry Foundation, & many popular literary websites such as The Rumpus and HTML Giant. Gold Wake Press titles are taught in university-level creative writing and literature classes, and books can be ordered in bulk through Ingram Book Group, Small Press Distribution, or via contacting the press itself.

Gold Wake Press paperbacks are available for purchase here or through our Submittable page, and are also available online at Amazon.com, BN.com & Powell’s Books. Selected titles are available through Small Press Distribution.

In Print:

Every Living Species, Erin Stalcup

Carnivalia, Glenn Shaheen

Life After Rugby, Eileen G’Sell

The Highs & Lows of Shapeshift Ma and Big-Little Frank, Frances Cannon

Mad River, Justin Bigos

The Neighborhood, Kelly Magee

Dreams I Never Told You & Letters I Never Sent, David Wojciechowski

Housefire Elegies, Keith Montesano

I am Sorry for Everything in the Whole Entire Universe, Kyle Flak

Blood Eagle, Adam Crittenden

Local Extinctions, Mary Quade 

Holy Island, Lesley Jenike.

Aerialist, Mary Buchinger.

New to the Lost Coast, Joshua Butts.

Other Acreage, Becca J.R. Lachman.

Let There Be Light, Nick Courtright.

You Are Indeed an Elk, But This is Not the Forest You Were Born To Graze, Kyle McCord.

In the Kettle, the Shriek, Hannah Stephenson. 

Robinson Alone, Kathleen Rooney.

The Naming of Strays, Erin Elizabeth Smith.

Reluctant Mistress, Anne Champion.

Some Churches, Tasha Cotter.


Back catalog (contact the author directly if unavailable through 3rd party channels):

Wilderness Champion, Gina Keicher.

Sympathy from the Devil, Kyle McCord.

The Diegesis, Chas Hoppe & Joshua Young.

Hibernaculum, Sarah E. Colona.

X Marks the Dress: A Registry, Kristina Marie Darling & Carol Guess.

Night Songs, Kristina Marie Darling.

The Body is a Little Gilded Cage: A Story in Letters & Fragments, Kristina Marie Darling.

When the Wolves Quit: A Play-in-Verse, Joshua Young.

Punchline, Nick Courtright.

To find a new beauty, Andrea Witzke Slot.

Covenant, Donora Hillard & Zachary C Bush.

This is Not About Birds, Nick Ripatrazone.

Petticoat Government, T.A. Noonan.

Oblations, Nick Ripatrazone.

Sparrow & Other Eulogies, Megan Martin.

Shoo-Ins to Ruin, Evan Kennedy.

Informal Invitation to a Traveler: Letters between J.R. & Miss Kim, Jeannie Hoag & Kyle McCord.